The IRPUD Model

The IRPUD model of the eastern part of the Ruhr area is a dynamic simulation model of intraregional location and mobility decisions in an urban region. It was developed in a project for the German Research Council at the Institute of Spatial Planning of the University of Dortmund since 1977 and has been applied in several projects for the European Commission and regional authorities, such as the EU projects PROPOLIS (Planning and Research of Policies for Land Use and Transport for Increasing Urban Sustainability) and STEPs (Scenarios for the Transport System and Energy Supply and their Potential Effects) and the project of the Institut für Landes- und Stadtentwicklungsforschung Nordrhein-Westfalen "Analysis of Central Constraints, Instruments and Goal Criteria for state transport planning in North-Rhine Westphalia".

The IRPUD model


The IRPUD model has been continuously further developed in the course of time. The most recent developments include the extension of the study area by external zones and the consideration of detailed measures to optimise the fare system of public transport. Descriptions of the model according to the state of its development at the time of writing are contained in

Wegener, M. (2011): The IRPUD Model. Working Paper 11/01. Dortmund: Spiekermann & Wegener Urban and Regional Research.

Fiorello, D., Huismans, G., López, Marques, C., Steenberghen, T., Wegener, M., Zografos, G. (2006): Transport Strategies under the Scarcity of Energy Supply. STEPs Final Report, edited by A. Monzon and A. Nuijten. The Hague: Buck Consultants.

Spiekermann, K., Wegener, M. (2005): Räumliche Szenarien für das östliche Ruhrgebiet. Schlussbericht. Dortmund: Institut für Landes- und Stadtentwicklungsforschung und Bauwesen des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen (ILS NRW).

Lautso, K., Spiekermann, K., Wegener, M., Sheppard, I., Steadman, P., Martino, A., Domingo, R., Gayda, S. (2004): PROPOLIS: Planning and Research of Policies for Land Use and Transport for Increasing Urban Sustainability. PROPOLIS Final Report. Helsinki: LT Consultants.

Das IRPUD-Modell

Das IRPUD-Modell des östlichen Ruhrgebiets ist ein dynamisches Simulationsmodell intraregionaler Standortwahl- und Mobilitätsentscheidungen in einer Stadtregion. Es wurde seit 1977 im Rahmen eines DFG-Sonderforschungsbereichs am Institut für Raumplanung der Universität Dortmund entwickelt und ist seither in mehreren Projekten für die Europäische Kommission und regionale Gebietskörperschaften angewendet worden, so in den EU-Projekten PROPOLIS (Planning and Research of Policies for Land Use and Transport for Increasing Urban Sustainability) und STEPs (Scenarios for the Transport System and Energy Supply and their Potential Effects) und dem Projekt des Instituts für Landes- und Stadtentwicklungsforschung Nordrhein-Westfalen "Untersuchung zentraler Rahmenbedingungen, Instrumente und Zielkriterien der Landesverkehrsplanung Nordrhein-Westfalens".

Das IRPUD-Modell


Das IRPUD-Modell ist im Lauf der Zeit ständig weiterentwicklelt worden. Jüngere Erweiterungen des Modells sind die Erweiterung des Untersuchungsbiets durch externe Zonen und die Berücksichtigung detaillerter Maßnahmen der Tarifgestaltung im öffentlichen Personennahverkehr. Beschreibungen des Modells entsprechend dem jeweiligen Stands der Modellentwicklung finden sich in

Wegener, M. (2011): The IRPUD Model. Working Paper 11/01. Dortmund: Spiekermann & Wegener Stadt- und Regionalforschung.

Fiorello, D., Huismans, G., López, Marques, C., Steenberghen, T., Wegener, M., Zografos, G. (2006): Transport Strategies under the Scarcity of Energy Supply. STEPs Final Report, herausgegeben von A. Monzon and A. Nuijten. Den Haag: Buck Consultants.

Spiekermann, K., Wegener, M. (2005): Räumliche Szenarien für das östliche Ruhrgebiet. Schlussbericht. Dortmund: Institut für Landes- und Stadtentwicklungsforschung und Bauwesen des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen (ILS NRW).

Lautso, K., Spiekermann, K., Wegener, M., Sheppard, I., Steadman, P., Martino, A., Domingo, R., Gayda, S. (2004): PROPOLIS: Planning and Research of Policies for Land Use and Transport for Increasing Urban Sustainability. PROPOLIS Final Report. Helsinki: LT Consultants.